Legacy Direct Blog

Posts Tagged ‘Albert Pujols

Upon the release of their new cereal, “Wheaties Fuel”, Wheaties has had a series of interviews with the athletes themselves including their workouts:


Sports Illustrated had this to say about him:

“What a legacy he’s leaving in St. Louis. Cardinals first baseman Albert Pujols (right) won MLB’s Roberto Clemente Award not just for his latest monster season (.357, 37 homers, 116 RBIs) but also for his foundation’s work helping kids with Down syndrome. ‘Winning the award,’ said Pujols, ‘is one of the most humbling experiences of my life.'”

Here is the ESPN article on Pujols, whose foundation, “The Albert Pujols Family Foundation,” helps the lives of children and young adults with down syndrome.


The Roberto Clemente Award is given annually to a player who demonstrates the values Clemente displayed in his commitment to community and understanding the value of helping others.  Each club nominates a player in September.  The winner is selected from 30 nominees during the World Series.

Roberto Clemente Award Logo

Roberto Clemente Award Logo

Here is the list of past winners of the award, dating back to 1971 when the award was created.  Clemente, who played in his last game during the 1972 season, was tragically killed in a plane crash on New Year’s Eve, December 31st, 1972.  Clemente’s flight was bound for his native country of Nicaragua, where he was going to help out with the relief efforts following a massive earthquake that devastated his country.

2008     Albert Pujols
2007     Craig Biggio
2006     Carlos Delgado
2005     John Smoltz
2004     Edgar Martinez
2003     Jamie Moyer
2002     Jim Thome
2001     Curt Schilling
2000     Al Leiter
1999     Tony Gwynn
1998     Sammy Sosa
1997     Eric Davis
1996     Kirby Puckett
1995     Ozzie Smith
1994     Dave Winfield
1993     Barry Larkin
1992     Cal Ripken, Jr.
1991     Harold Reynolds
1990     Dave Stewart
1989     Gary Carter
1988     Dale Murphy
1987     Rick Sutcliffe
1986     Garry Maddox
1985     Don Baylor
1984     Ron Guidry
1983     Cecil Cooper
1982     Ken Singleton
1981     Steve Garvey
1980     Phil Niekro
1979     Andre Thornton
1978     Greg Luzinski
1977     Rod Carew
1976     Pete Rose
1975     Lou Brock
1974     Willie Stargell
1973     Al Kaline
1972     Brooks Robinson
1971     Willie Mays

July 2018
« Oct    

RSS Legacy Direct on Twitter

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.